releases releases

01. Those Throats
02. Marseille Tape
03. Our Earthly Balloon
04. Crow Crow Growth
05. Sponge Shipwreck
06. The Ghostly Whole
07. Full Colour Lemon
08. There Is Water At The Bottom Of The Ocean
09. Three Farewells
10. The Liar Inbetween
11. You Clay
12. The Shadow Of Lunch
13. Narwhal
14. An Inappropriate Exclamation Mark
15. Arc Fankle
16. Bustle
17. English Again


More releases by Daniel Padden
[059] DANIEL PADDEN "Ship Chop" LP

Pause For The Jet

Since 1995 Daniel Padden has been a member of Volcano The Bear, with several highly regarded album releases on Nurse With Wound's United Diaries label, Textile and Beta-Lactam Ring Records. After his move to Glasgow he started The One Ensemble Of Daniel Padden as an outlet for his solo recordings with releases on Catsup Plate, Secret Eye and Textile. When The One Ensemble slowly metamorphosed into a band of its own, Padden started to record his solo output under his birth name, with last year's "The Isaac Storm" on the Ultra Exzema label being the first seminal result.

Over the years Padden has developed a strong fascination for obscure musics from all over the world (re his recent "Epiphanies" article for The Wire magazine): mouth organ love-songs from Thailand, The Ramayana Monkey Chant from Bali, Khene pieces from Laos; so-called world music from Burundi to Bulgaria.

Combining these interests with his love for British Folk and Art Rock (This Heat, Robert Wyatt), Kraut Rock (Faust), Free Jazz, the surreal collage techniques of Nurse With Wound and the odd humour of The Residents, he has developed a totally unique and highly personal musical vision without ever sounding overambitious or directionless. Gorgeous song-writing is seamlessly transformed into pure fuzz or string drones, suddenly interrupted by some improvised reeds or collapsing percussion, all within the blink of an eye, and never losing its natural flow, "Pause for the Jet" is already an auspicious aspirant for our "Record of the Year".